My first contest win!

On Easter Monday I took part in the 70 cms Counties Contest.  I entered the low power (10w) SSB/FM section and set up on the top of Tountinna (about 450m ASL).  It is a great location with the added bonus of being able to drive to the top.  I used a Yaesu FT-897 for SSB and an Icom IC-207h for FM.  The FM antenna was a Diamond X300 and I just used the mobile antenna on the car for SSB – yes it seems everyone uses vertical polarization on SSB during contests!  I did bring a 7 element beam but didn’t use it.  I managed 29 contacts in 14 counties and received the top score overall.

17973843_10154630434862309_2189227996527222309_o

Leave a Reply

